Skip to content

And now for something completely different.

June 23, 2011

This was a solo journey but I’m the cook in my family for my husband of now 26 years and 3 kids coming and going from college. I was committed to my new mission and could have been very content with beans and broccoli for the rest of my life but I didn’t want them to suffer. Twice I made the main dish vegan and then sautéed chicken breast  to put on theirs. Independently they each said the dinner would have been just as good without the chicken and they could have had it “your” way. Then twice I decided to ask first. I announced what I was going to be making and asked if they’d like meat to go with it. They all said not necessary. I stopped asking. Now I was on a serious mission to make great meals everyone in the family would like that didn’t appear to be lacking something major or have weird substances they’d hate. Many of the vegan cook books rely on the meat substitutes seitan and soy. We were coming from opposite sides but in the same place. I couldn’t stomach meat, so why copy it with something fake? They loved meat, so why copy it with something fake? So I just left it out, and pretty successfully.

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Amanda permalink

    I love the last three sentences. Most of the fake meat is nasty anyway, This was a good one!

Leave a Reply

