Skip to content

Got Milk?

July 12, 2011

Humans are the only animal that drinks another species’ milk and the only animal that drinks milk past infancy.

Factory farmed dairy cows are typically impregnated once a year. Their gestation period is 9 months long and they are milked an average of 10 months a year, usually twice a day thanks to a nifty injection that increases milk production. The farther into pregnancy the more hormones they produce, and you consume.

Cow’s milk (regular and organic) has 59 active hormones, scores of allergens, fat and cholesterol. Most milk has measurable quantities of herbicides, pesticides, dioxins, antibiotics, blood, pus, feces, bacteria and viruses, basically traces of anything the cow ate. Cheese is approximately 10 times the concentration of milk. While dairy contains calcium, it is lacking in sufficient levels of magnesium needed for absorption so we only absorb approximately 11% of the amount listed.  It also contains protein, but animal protein unlike plant protein is acidic. Our bodies actually take calcium from our bones to neutralize the excessive acid. It becomes a Catch 22 that the more milk we consume the more we need. Worldwide people that consume the most meat and dairy have the highest rates of osteoporosis. In a study by the American Heart Association, people eating a plant based diet absorb and retain more calcium from their diets than those who consume meat and milk.

Great Dairy Substitutes:

Milk: almond, coconut, rice, soy, hemp                                                                                                                      I use Whole Foods unsweetened organic almond milk on my cereal, in smoothies and protein shakes and even to drink. I love it! For a richer texture I use soy creamer in mashed potatoes and gravies.

Ice cream: There are many brands using rice, soy and coconut milk. Coconut milk actually produces a creamier texture than cow’s milk, it has a slight coconut flavor which it good or bad depending on your preference. You can find great substitutes for bars and ice cream sandwiches as well.

Coffee Creamers: Coconut and soy. I use So Delicious coconut coffee creamer, regular and hazelnut. Coffee houses always have soy available.

Cheese: I’m not gonna lie, this is the tough one. Daiya, made from tapioca is decent, it melts nicely, I even nibble it straight from the package while cooking with it. I use it as a cheesy garnish, not as a main ingredient.

From → Vegan

7 Comments
  1. Izzy permalink

    Ugh. Even though I already know this, it still makes me sick whenever I read it. I don’t know why it took 28 years for it to dawn on me that drinking milk, or consuming dairy products is absolutely retarded.

    I love almond and soy milk now, thankfully. Daiya will never step bag into my house again though. Here’s to hoping we get some decent vegan “cheese” someday. 🙂

  2. I love this quote: “Got Milk? Then you better get rid of it!” (I read that on a blog post one time and never forgot it!) Everything you said about dairy is true. So many human diseases are linked to dairy consumption, like asthma, diabetes, breast and prostate cancer, heart disease, and as you pointed out—osteoporosis! While cheese was the hardest dairy product to give up (with all those dairy opiates, it’s quite an addiction!), I am finding Daiya cheese to be quite palatable. And Earth Balance Buttery Spread, Follow Your Heart Cream Cheese and Sour Cream, Healthy Top Whipped Topping, all of the yummy coconut milk beverages, creamers, yogurts, and ice creams made by So Delicious make dairy-free living a joy!

  3. Yum! Just looking at your blog makes me so hungry. The meals you posted look delicious and easy to prepare, so I’m exicted to try them! One comment on the milks, cheeses, and other dairy products. Make sure carageenan is not one of the ingredients in the item you purchase. Andrew Weil has shouted loud and clear that it is carcinogenic, not in its natural state (kelp, I bleieve), but after it is processed. It is used as a thickener, emulsifier in dairy products, so read the labels and make sure to buy products that are carageenan free!
    Sue

    • Hi Sue, Thanks for checking this out and for the info on carageenan. I’d heard this from a customer. I hear about everything from customers, this job has either saved my life or ruined it depending on how you look at it. My so delicious coffee creamer has carageenan; the 365 almond milk, earth balance butter, and daiya cheese don’t. I’ll have to try almond milk in my coffee but it’s pretty thin.

  4. Casey permalink

    I guess I’ll have to modify the recipes from my wife’s new ice cream machine!

Leave a Reply

